Bar Bouchon

We have taken to eating at the bar rather than the restaurant, although we do have a reservation for dinner next week – stay tuned. In any case, it is really nice to have decent food at 3:45 – not bar food, not sliders, but carefully crafted cuisine with good wine.

It was too cold to sit outside so we decided a seat at the bar was in order.

Notice the absolutely gorgeous zinc bar – I could have been in Paris.

Bar Bouchon’s Blackboard

Our wonderful server

White wine – bought from Bouchon’s list

We have a tendency to order our favorites – boring for some, perfect for us.

Shiny Sea Oysters – perfect one bite slurping oysters from New London Bay

Tartare of blue eye tuna, haricot verts, strains of seaweed, gribiche sauce (capers, cornichons, shallots, champagne vinegar, mayo) with won ton crisps flecked with black sesame seeds – perfect as always

Rillettes aux deux saumons – fresh and smoked salmon rillettes served with toasted croutons

Quiche Florentine – I sound like a broken record, but Bouchon’s quiche is the best.

Escargots de Bourgogne – marinated snails in garlic-parsley butter and puff pastry – one of the hallmarks of Bouchon’s cuisine is that there are no off days in terms of execution. Inconsistency is a word that doesn’t fit Bouchon one little bit.

Now I wanted to try the Duck Confit with Mandarin Orange Slices, Pinenuts and Mizuna. I wanted to have the tartiflette – russet potatoes, bacon and reblochon. But, I was getting full and the boudin noir was calling my name.

BYO Red Wine

Boudin Noir – blood sausage with potato puree and caramelized apples – what a great dish

Bottom line- Bar Bouchon is a perfect place for just dropping in – no attitude, super service, good bistro food – well-executed CONSISTENTLY. What more can one ask for?

3 Responses to “Bar Bouchon”


  1. 1 sygyzy March 1, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    Another great review. I need to go here stat.

  2. 2 cbijapan March 1, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    Nice rundown of Bar Bouchon. I wish I still worked in Beverly Hills..I’d be here for lunch quite often. Wondering – I think the camera lens might be a bit dusty – I’d use a soft cloth to wipe it down.

  3. 3 mattatouille March 1, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    Oops Lizzie, that comment I just made under cbijapan was a mistake (a nonprofit I’m helping out). I meant to say it under this name.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


