Craft – Century City

We normally eat in the bar area and love it there. For some reason, we were seated at a large booth in the main dining room at Craft. Most people would be thrilled, but to be honest we love the casual fun atmosphere of the bar area much more.

Craft room

Craft dining room

Craft room 1

 

Craft room 3

 

To the credit of Stacy, the new GM, she allowed us to order from the Craftbar menu in the main dining room. Stacy’s comment – At Craft, we don’t know the meaning of rules and never use the word “no.” In other words, Craft is all about service.

 

Stacy

Stacy, the new GM

 

David and Krug

David with our BYO Krug Chamapagne

 

Gustavo

Gustavo

 

kelley

Kelly

 

Zachary

Zachary

 

A first rate front of the house team.

 

Gazpacho

Amuse – Heirloom Tomato Gazpacho with croutons and celery dust on top – excellent and perfect on a hot summer night

 

Oysters

Kumamoto and Kusshi Oysters – I don’t use any sauce – just slurp

 

white wine

BYO White Wine

 

Raw Fish

Kona Kampachi, Proscuitto, Pine Nuts and Aged Balsamic – we have had this before – sashimi quality fish, great crunch from the pine nuts, a fruit accent to the fish and proscuitto plus a touch of acidity from the balsamic.

 

bread

Pumpernickel Bread – terrific

 

calamari

Calamari and White Anchovy – this was the only miss of the evening – the white anchovy was a tapenade and basically added little or no flavor. The calamari was tough and no where near the equal of the calamari on a prior visit.

 

calamari good

From a prior visit – Calamari, ramps and sea beans – this was served warm with a lemon olive oil dressing – calamari were excellent, perfectly cooked – I hope the photo tells the story between this calamari and the one above.

 

egg

Crispy Farm Egg, Salmon eggs, Cucumber, Frisee – this was the dish of the evening, absolutely sensational and I would return just for this. A crispy outer shell of the egg, lightly breaded and deep-fried (I am guessing panko, but I don’t know), with a runny yolk, pop in your mouth salmon eggs, creme fraiche, tiny cubes of cucumber sitting on a bed of frisee. My husband had visions of ordering 2 more and then returning for 2 more tomorrow. I will wait to see what excuse he gives me that he is having a business lunch at Craft this week.

 

red wine

BYO Red Wine

 

pate

Country Pate, Pickled carrots, Mustard – the pate has been improved since our last visit and is definitely on a par with Walter Manske’s at Church and State.

 

pate first time

The pate from a prior visit – I hope you can see how much better the new version is.

 

Bread for the pate

Bread for the pate – the pate was so good that I ignored the bread and the mustard.

 

sausage

Red Wine Sausage, Polenta, Garlic Puree – excellent

 

 

sorbet

Palate Cleanser – note taking went downhill so I don’t have a clue

 

hush

Anson Mills Hushpuppies and Smoked Maple – decided to have these for dessert, although they are an appetizer – back on track with the hushpuppies.

We will definitely return to Craft, but really only want to sit in the bar – more fun, very casual and I guess just our preferred vibe.

8 Responses to “Craft – Century City”


  1. 1 big mac August 7, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    I love your pictures but they leave me hungry. Where is the beef. I can go to MCDonalds and get a guarter ponder, FF and a coke all for under $5.00 . That is what I call eating

  2. 2 lizziee August 7, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    Sorry, I am not a Big Mac person.

  3. 3 big mac August 8, 2009 at 4:11 am

    when I look at your pictures they are terrific but not much to eat. I will starve. I not a small guy. 265 pounds

  4. 4 ulterior epicure August 8, 2009 at 11:51 am

    lizziee: The pate from before looks too congealed; almost like deli meat product. The newer pate DOES look much better. Lovely lardo wrapping and a fine, textured middle. Great report.

  5. 5 lizziee August 8, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    Thanks UE – I am committed to documenting each and every comment and not just saying things like “overcooked”, “done wrong” or some such thing. I greatly appreciate your noticing how hard I try to be fair and honest to each and every chef.

  6. 6 ulterior epicure August 8, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    lizziee: Your dedication to the craft of constructive criticism is unimpeachable. You set a good standard for the rest of us. Thanks for your diligence.

  7. 7 lizziee August 8, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    You are also someone to respect and follow.

  8. 8 Delila July 25, 2013 at 1:09 am

    You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but
    I find this matter to be actually something that I think I
    would never understand. It seems too complicated and very broad for me.
    I’m looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


