Maine Lobster

Besides fried clams, I also love Maine lobster. I am a purest about lobster, don’t overcook them plus just steam them. I have a huge clam/lobster pot that I bought 35 years ago and it works perfectly.

lobster-pot

 

I am not a huge fan of chicken lobsters (about a pound) and usually ask for a 2 pound female. The operative word here it must be a female. 

lobster

The two pound girl

 

lobster-1

Just out of the steamer

 

lobster3

Unlike most people, I am not a big claw person. My favorite parts of a lobster are the green stuff  or tomalley (the lobster’s liver or more accurately, its digestive system) , the red stuff  (the roe or the unfertilized eggs of the female), the legs (makes for great sucking), the small chunks of meat inside the carapace or body of the lobster and last but not least the tail meat. Usually, by the time I get to the tail, I am quite full and usually eat half the tail meat and save the claw meat, knuckles and some tail meat for leftovers. Let’s just say that there is absolutely no waste when I eat a lobster.

 

lobster-roe

Gorgeous roe and tomalley

 

working-on-destruction

Working on destroying a lobster

 

leftovers

Leftovers on a toasted onion roll

7 Responses to “Maine Lobster”


  1. 1 Joel April 29, 2009 at 4:23 am

    Thank you, L/ You inspired me to order a similar pot just now. Summer is a comin’ on!
    Joel

  2. 2 lizziee April 29, 2009 at 6:07 am

    Most welcome Joel.

  3. 3 Joel May 11, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    Four 2.5 lb lovely lobsters and 5 lbs of steamers this weekend. My new pot streamed all four to bright red in about 15 minutes. Boy were they sweet. The steamers were great too. Next I will fry them with the bellies and all. Yum Yum.

  4. 4 Joel May 11, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    Steamed I meant.

  5. 5 lizziee May 13, 2009 at 10:15 am

    Joel, I am pleased you like your steamer – so much better than boiled lobsters. As for your fried clams, I am very jealous.

  6. 6 fellinto December 21, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    Those cannot be Maine lobsters if you managed to get females. It is illegal to knowingly sell females from the Maine stock. My grandfather owns the largest lobster pound in North America, it is located in Blue Hill, Maine. I grew up around the business. Now, you can accidentally end up with females, but when they are found to have roe, which you can tell, somehow without cutting them open, the fishermen are required to cut a triangle shape out of one of the flippers and then release the animal.

    BTW, your lobsters look really good. I can’t wait to travel back home and eat a few myself.

  7. 7 lizziee December 21, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    The way to tell the difference between a male and female lobster is that the first pair of pleopods or swimmerets on a male lobster are hard, whereas on a female lobster, they are soft and feathery. When I bought these lobsters I was assured that they were Maine Lobsters.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


